Would love some feedback on this picture.

erson83erson83 Registered Users Posts: 186 Major grins
edited June 22, 2008 in People
Hello all, This is my first thread ever! I have been doing some photography for a few years now and have just thought about getting serious. Please let me know what you think of this picture posted. Feel free to be honest so I may find out if I'm kidding myself or not. Thanks for your time. Please note that the actual print is not as grainy as it appears on the screen... I just have not mastered the fine art of uploading! Please judge on composition and light and such

Comments

• SwartzySwartzy Registered Users Posts: 3,293 Major grins
    edited June 22, 2008
    I think the light is good. The additional processing with blur distracts. The composition of having her towards the left side of frame looking on is good. The fact that most of her face is away from the viewer is not really desirable and doesn't quite tell a story....other than it looks like a candid with over processing.

Had you captured more of her face and eyes I think the shot would be more appealing. One thing to remember is get those eyes in focus...really important unless deliberately trying to covey a particular mood. Often times we'll see out of focus eyes and very in focus shirts or blouses. Photos of people are usually about the people so we want the viewer to feel as they could know them, or relate to what they are feeling...whether through facial expressions, eyes, body mannerisms (captured at one moment), etc.

With more shots...you'll start to see the things that really grab you..that say something to a viewer....especially the portraits.
    Swartzy:
    NAPP Member | Canon Shooter
    Weddings/Portraits and anything else that catches my eye.
    www.daveswartz.com
    Model Mayhem site http://www.modelmayhem.com/686552
  • erson83erson83 Registered Users Posts: 186 Major grins
    edited June 22, 2008
    thank you for your honesty!