Sigma 10-20mm

swintonphotoswintonphoto Registered Users Posts: 1,664 Major grins
edited June 26, 2008 in Cameras
Anyone have any experience with the Sigma 10-20mm? I am looking for a wide angle lens, and it is the most affordable option for the 4/3 system. Just wondering if anyone from any system could comment on this lens. Thanks.

Comments

• Tee WhyTee Why Registered Users Posts: 2,390 Major grins
    edited June 24, 2008
    I had it for the Canon system and found it to be pretty good.
    Sharpness and CA control is on par with Canon's 10-24. Slightly warmer color and a touch less in contrast though.

It tends to be sharpest around f8. Considering the prices of UWA's, I think it offers a lot for the dough and have no problems recommending it.

I've no experience with the lens for the 4/3 mount though.
  • Manfr3dManfr3d Registered Users Posts: 2,008 Major grins
    edited June 24, 2008
    I own this lens as well. I love the wide angle and fast & silent
    focus. Sharp wide open and very sharp at f8. It is also better
    build than the Canon 10-22mm. Besides it takes normal 77mm
    filters (even the thicker polfilters) without vignetting. Highly
    recommended.
    “To consult the rules of composition before making a picture is a little like consulting the law of gravitation before going for a walk.”
    ― Edward Weston
  • pyrypyry Registered Users Posts: 1,733 Major grins
    edited June 24, 2008
    Go for it.

Here's some shots I've done with mine (for Canon as well): The on deck shots from the tall ship Götheborg, an astro shot and some sturdy horses.
    Creativity's hard.

http://pyryekholm.kuvat.fi/
  • ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,079 moderator
    edited June 24, 2008
    I have the Sigma 10-20mm, f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM and I find it almost perfect for my needs. I agree that the sweet spot for the lens is f8.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • EJP PhotoEJP Photo Registered Users Posts: 10 Big grins