New guy looking at Canon

mud390mud390 Registered Users Posts: 219 Major grins
edited June 28, 2008 in Cameras
So, after going to the local photography shop and playing with some different Canon and Nikon cameras, I found the Canon body to be more comfy in my hand. I had it set in my mind that a Nikon D40 was for me, but I was wrong after holding it. The two Canon's that I looked at were the XT and XSI. This particular shop didn't have the XTI in stock. What are the real differences between the XT and XTI? Keep in mind I'm really new at this. I'd ask about the XSI, but its out of my price range. I'm trying to stay around the $650-ish price range as a max. I'd be using the camera for mostly outdoors, architecture, action, some close up stuff, and of course friends, family, and pets. Thanks!

Kris

Comments

• Tee WhyTee Why Registered Users Posts: 2,390 Major grins
    edited June 24, 2008
    I think the XSi is over your budget, but XT and XTi are more similar in how it looks and handles.

XTi mainly has a 10MP sensor with an anti dust feature, slightly faster AF, slightly bigger viewfinder, more buffer, larger LCD, and some rubber panels where you grip the camera so it feels more secure in the hand.

It does lack a tiny rear LCD and uses the main LCD to show the settings.
    It's not a big deal though. I've had both the XT and XTi and given the choice would go for the XTi.

Consider buying a lens seperately though. The kit lens 18-55mm without the IS is not that good. For about $175, you can order online a Canon 18-55mm with IS which is a much improved version of the kit lens.

Good luck.
  • evorywareevoryware Registered Users Posts: 1,330 Major grins
    edited June 24, 2008
    XTi is a great camera. I don't leave home without it. :D