Options

Which one?

nightspidynightspidy Registered Users Posts: 177 Major grins
edited June 26, 2008 in Finishing School
Ok, I'm a total newbie at post processing, but I am ready for the upgrade from the camera supplied software. I know these programs have been discussed here, but I am just really stuck. I'm not "computer-literate" at all and I need honest feedback that is not sales driven. I'm using a mac and I'm thinking either: lightroom or aperture. I would like to start doing some more creative things with my photography with a system that is user friendly. I'm thinking of getting my reb xt converted to infrared, so if the program can handle that it would be great. For example, shooting in IR and punching out one color, like a blue sky. I would like to do more enlaring of my macro's and sharpening where needed. I also need to be able to get rid of dust spots....healing....cloning, etc. If there is someone who has used both programs that could comment that would be great. Thank you in advance. :D
Canon 30D & REB XT (thinking of converting to infrared), Sigma 10-20mm, Tammy 17-50mm 2.8, Canon 24-70mm 2.8, 70-200mm 2.8 IS, Tokina 100mm 2.8 Macro, Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon 1.4 ext, and Sigma 4.5 fish eye along with a Bogen by Gitzo Tripod, Manfrotto Ball Head, MacBook PRO, several HOYA filters and a 2GB & 8GB San Disk, 160GB Sanho storage device (really cool btw)......wishing for a Canon 100-400mm. :wink

Comments

• Options
    claudermilkclaudermilk Registered Users Posts: 2,756 Major grins
    edited June 25, 2008
    There should be trial versions of both (I know LR has one). Download them both & try them both. Use the one that works for you. It's a highly personal choice that only you can really answer. For example as popular as LR has become I don't use it as I hate it's workflow and--to me--extremely weak DAM module; just my own minority opinion.
  • Options
    RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,931 moderator
    edited June 25, 2008