Options

Voices of God - Comments/Critique

KolyaKolya Registered Users Posts: 8 Beginner grinner
edited April 5, 2004 in People
Looking for comments on my pictures at http://kolya.smugmug.com

I am an amateur photographer putting together a photography book about clergy in and around the San Francisco Bay Area.

“Voices of God” will be about religious clergy. Religious leaders are viewed with different perspectives today, but their ability to heal, develop, teach, and share joy with us during our lives arouse us and provide us with a sense of peace. This is a project exploring the many denominations of religious clergy in the San Francisco Bay Area and how they communicate their respective messages from God or their spiritual leader.

I hope the work will contribute to the diverse religious discussions taking place in people’s lives today.

I'd love some comments/critique on my pictures - please check it out at http://kolya.smugmug.com

Thanks!
Kolya

Comments

• Options
    wxwaxwxwax Registered Users Posts: 15,471 Major grins
    edited April 5, 2004
    Hi Koyla, welcome aboard! wave.gif

Nice images and a great project. I'm especially interested in the ones that look like they're in a mosque of some kind. Very different world from mine, thanks for taking me there.

A little feedback, as you asked for. As always, just my humble opinion. I'd sure like to see the religious leader in the 'Imam' shots looking up - I'd like to see his eyes. I love the range of black, whites and greys in the medium shot, and the composition.

The Rabbi shots all look a little posed, except for "Rabbi laying tfillin" which is excellent, save that again, I'd like to see his face.

The priest shot with Mary and infant Jesus behind him is nice, except that Jesus is overexposed. Tough to overcome in high contrast situations!

I think my favorites are "Priest at prayer" - it looks so natural. And also the medium shot of the Imam, if only the blighter would look up!