Options

Where to start in Photoshop for a Newbie

OFFTHEROADOFFTHEROAD Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited June 30, 2008 in Finishing School
I am new to Sports Photography and to Photoshop. Here is an example picture. Where would you start in Photoshop to make it better? It was a dark rainy day, so I know the photo needs some work to lighten up some areas and a few areas are out of focus and need to be cropped. I am a little overwhelmed by all the tools in Photoshop and don't where the best place to start is. Do you start with cropping and getting the canvas you want or with touching up color? I am totally self taught. Thanks for any advice.

286794183_WN8uE-XL.jpg

Comments

• Options
    gusgus Registered Users Posts: 16,209 Major grins
    edited June 26, 2008
    Buy Kelbys book...works fine for CS2/3.
  • Options
    edited June 26, 2008
    Thanks
    gus wrote:
    Buy Kelbys book...works fine for CS2/3.

Thank you! That is just what I was looking for. There is so much information out there, but I need a source I can reference. I appreciate your help.
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,698 moderator
    edited June 26, 2008
    You do not specify what version of Photoshop you have in your post.

Gus' recommendation is fine if you have CS2.

If you have CS3, Kelby has a newer edition specifically for CS3 that can be a great help. I find CS3 a great deal more useful than CS2 ever was, for dozens of specific reasons.

Kelby also has a book called "Scott Kelby's 7 Point System for Photoshop" that is very task oriented, and you might find helpful.

Keep in mind that Photoshop is an immense program with lots of different ways to do things, and that most folks spend several years becoming really proficient in editing images with Photoshop.
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com

Moderator of the Technique Forum and Finishing School on Dgrin
  • Options
    twhite14twhite14 Registered Users Posts: 31 Big grins