Amateur first outside shots

MemoryMemory Registered Users Posts: 13 Big grins
edited June 29, 2008 in Holy Macro
I took some photos this morning outside. This is my first attempt. Nothing special and I would appreciate some input on how I could improve or just general impressions.

321715936_cP3Pr-L.jpg

321716276_H2wdr-L.jpg

321716368_oVrDt-L.jpg

321716418_qpAN9-L.jpg

Thanks,

memorytrap.com
memorytrap.smugmug.com

Comments

• Lord VetinariLord Vetinari Registered Users Posts: 15,901 Major grins
    edited June 29, 2008
    Welcome to the forum.
    LOvely series esp for first go- esp like the lilly in #1.

You need to be careful with macro shots - especially flowers of what is in the background. For example #1 is slightly spoilt by the oof stem on the left but you could easuily clone that out.
    Shots with both bugs and a flower are difficult- you need to make sure what is the primary subject and compose the shot primarily for that, so in #3 the pic is composed better for the flower than it is for the snail , the latter is too centred. Always try to give bugs more room in the direction they are looking.

Brian V.
  • MemoryMemory Registered Users Posts: 13 Big grins
    edited June 29, 2008
    Thanks for the feedback.
    Welcome to the forum.
    LOvely series esp for first go- esp like the lilly in #1.

You need to be careful with macro shots - especially flowers of what is in the background. For example #1 is slightly spoilt by the oof stem on the left but you could easuily clone that out.
    Shots with both bugs and a flower are difficult- you need to make sure what is the primary subject and compose the shot primarily for that, so in #3 the pic is composed better for the flower than it is for the snail , the latter is too centred. Always try to give bugs more room in the direction they are looking.

Brian V.