Options

Does pre/post techniques make an individual more or less a photographer?

MemoryMemory Registered Users Posts: 13 Big grins
edited July 10, 2008 in Technique
I'm just getting into photography and I have a burning question and was wondering what others thought.

In the age of digital photography, does the ability to utilize post techniques via computer make an individual any less a photographer or have we just extended the darkroom techniques of the past to the digital age?

I guess from my perspective a photographer is an individual that can capture the true essence and beauty of a particular moment in time no matter if it is done directly through the lens of a camera or utilizing post production methods.

Would appreciate other thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    BlackwoodBlackwood Registered Users Posts: 313 Major grins
    edited June 29, 2008
    I believe your statement "we have just extended the darkroom techniques of the past to the digital age" is fairly accurate.

I still develop film and print photos 'the old fashioned' way, and I see a great deal of continuity between that and digital treatments.

If I have dense or thin negatives, I have filters I put in the enlarger. I can dial in contrast. I can burn and dodge. Can I make changes that dramatically alter the image? Not as much. But the basics are the same, and I think it's the basics that most photographers use programs like Photoshop for.

I also agree with your 'perspective.' In my words: it's the end result that matters, not the process of getting there.
  • Options
    J.T.J.T. Registered Users Posts: 279 Major grins
    edited June 29, 2008
    Blackwood wrote:
    I believe your statement "we have just extended the darkroom techniques of the past to the digital age" is fairly accurate.

I still develop film and print photos 'the old fashioned' way, and I see a great deal of continuity between that and digital treatments.