Options

outdoor lighting - portrait

rspartsrsparts Registered Users Posts: 217 Major grins
edited July 6, 2008 in Technique
So I'm shooting a couple that has requested that I take them to a nearby park and take some photos of them for an engagement style session. I've never done this before and I want to make sure that I explore my lighting techniques.

I have photographed my sister before but I did not use any lighting except what nature provided. I used no reflectors either. here is an example
DSC_2217.jpg

I have a Vivitar 285HV, a 15' PC cable, an umbrella with stand, and a giant reflector (white). What are a few good uses for this setup while outdoors?

Comments

• Options
    RustingInPeaceRustingInPeace Registered Users Posts: 255 Major grins
    edited June 29, 2008
    Loads of options
    I look at my lighting two ways. There are times that I am using reflectors and flash solely for fill purposes. Really always trying to balance the power to match the ambient. Then there are times when I am using flash more "artistically". By that I mean trying to change the look of the ambient instead of trying to match it.

1. Just plain fill flash on a back lit subject
    218167300_WJHuu-L-1.jpg

2. Using the flash change hard and boring lighting. This was taken at 5:30 pm. The subject was back lit.
    296831770_YJtw2-L.jpg

In the second I used the flash output and shutter speed to control the exposure on the subject and aperture to control the background exposure. I actually used my 285hv and a radio popper on this shot.

“Look, I'm not an intellectual - I just take pictures.” -Helmut Newton-
  • Options
    Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited June 30, 2008
    Here's another example for you:
    218793888_EnQkH-L.jpg

Click on the photo for the EXIF.

Technique:
    • Hair light is the sun, about 120 degrees to camera left