Options

Canon 40d Workflow (geek city)

grapejapegrapejape Registered Users Posts: 57 Big grins
edited July 6, 2008 in Finishing School
I'm starting to develop a "workflow", to use the digital photography jargon, in my picture taking and I'd like some comments and suggestions. I do not have Photoshop or any Adobe products, but I do take most of my photographs in RAW mode with my 40D. Since I am a very new photographer, I have quite a few "duds" that need to be quickly deleted. The Canon DPP software does a great job with the RAWs, but it is a very clunky browser for simply culling bad shots because you can't scroll through photos with the arrow keys like in Picasa or other browsers.

Here's what I generally do after taking some photos:

1) connect camera to computer and download RAW images to a RAW folder using the Canon EOS utility - files are stored in a folder by YYYY and then in a YYYY_MM_DD_DESCRIPTION_RAW subfolder

2) use Irfanview with the Canon RAW plugin to browse through the photos and quickly delete the terrible ones that weren't already deleted on-camera. I'd like to just use Picasa (since I use it later in the process), but RAW browsing is very slow compared to Irfanview. I'd also like to use Canon DPP, since I use it in the next step, but browsing with that software is really, really bad, so I stuck with Irfanview.

3) open RAW photos in Canon DPP and make my adjustments for White Balance, brightness (exposure), cropping, picture style, etc . . . do final delete/culls on the ones that don't make the cut. I use the copy/paste recipe function as much as possible during this stage. I save the modified RAW metadata when finished with my edits. I'd like some way to embed custom information into the files, but I have only figured out how to add my name w/ the EOS utility.

4) use the bulk rename tool in Canon DPP to rename the RAW files YYYY-MM-DD_XXXX.cr2 in sequential order since many photos were likely deleted