Options

Help me learn CS3 with a macro picture

PupatorPupator Registered Users Posts: 2,322 Major grins
edited July 15, 2008 in Finishing School
I got a great deal on CS3 - so I'm going to give it a whirl (have used Paint Shop Pro for years).

I'm also relatively new with my camera - a Sony A100.

Recently I was at a local landmark and noticed that the pictures they have to show people what plants to look out for are terrible. I thought that I could likely take some better ones and offer them to the people who run the place. I have three lenses right now: Sony 18-70 3.5-5.6 (Kit); Sigma 70-300 APO 4-5.6; Minolta 50mm 1.4.

I see that the Sigma has a macro mode at 300mm but I had a very difficult time figuring out how to use it well so I took this first round of shots with the Sony. I'd like to get a lot better at taking these macros but I think I've got something to work with in PP.

Now I just have to figure out how to PP well in CS3. Anyone feel like offering a brief tutorial on how to make a macro like this look good in CS3?

Thanks -

326940595_YJ4cA-L.jpg

Comments

• Options
    i_worship_the_Kingi_worship_the_King Registered Users Posts: 548 Major grins
    edited July 6, 2008
    Here's a links you may be interested in....
    http://www.digitalgrin.com/showthread.php?t=61316
    http://dgrin.smugmug.com/gallery/2292454/1

This looks (to me) like a great frame already... for ident purposes you may want something with a lot tighter crop showing just the flower. You may also want to throw in a CD or pencil or something for a size frame of reference. If you're looking to do 5x6 or a larger shot you could even to a frame like you have with a pencil or something for frame of reference, then an inset of the flower itself showing the flower to help identify it.

If you get really froggy you can photoshop a legend on the side that has something like "flowering", "thorns", "height", "causes rash" using icons.