Options

RSS feed hacked? Or not?

NWMtnGuyNWMtnGuy Registered Users Posts: 88 Big grins
edited July 9, 2008 in SmugMug Support
I'm not an expert on RSS so it's possible I'm concerned about something for no reason. I just tried a handful of Google searches to find out where my page shows up and I came across a link for the following URL:

http://photos.miseast.org/hack/feed.mg?Type=search&Data=glaciers&format=rss200

This appears to be a feed for photos on Smugmug matching the word "glaciers". Just to be sure, I went to the Smugmug homepage and searched for "glaciers" and then clicked the RSS feed to get this URL:

http://smugmug.com/hack/feed.mg?Type=search&Data=glaciers&format=rss200

The resulting RSS feed is almost exactly the same as the one from the first link. I guess I'm a little bit concnered because the first URL is not from a Smugmug domain, but maybe that's entirely normal. Can someone tell me if I should care about this or not?

Thanks,
Dale

Comments

• Options
    edited July 8, 2008
    Hmmm... just found another one:

http://www.andtherewaslight.net/hack/feed.mg?Data=glacier&Type=search&format=rss200

Maybe I just don't understand something fundamental about how RSS works (which is entirely possible), but it seems strange to find these feeds through URLs other than Smugmug or my own domain name. headscratch.gif
  • Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited July 8, 2008
    Sorry, I'm not following, what's strange?
  • Options
    edited July 8, 2008
    Sorry, I just looked at my earlier message and it probably wasn't clear. The thing I was concerned about was that MY images are showing up through a feed from a site I have never heard of. Those non-Smugmug URLs contain MY photos and I'm trying to understand how they are getting there.