Options

Need help with a shot!

GrimisGrimis Registered Users Posts: 32 Big grins
edited July 13, 2008 in Technique
Hey guys I'm new to the site and have a question.

I have a Canon 40D and I am having problem's with a shot. I am trying to do a low light photo and the camera isn't letting me do a long exposure. Can you guys post a few form photo's of really low light soft photo's? Also the settings or recomondations on where to start with the setting's. I am new to the digital realm and usually just set a shoot but the Canon won't let me. Thanx in advance.
You're Only Limited by your Imagination :scratch

Comments

• Options
    gusgus Registered Users Posts: 16,209 Major grins
    edited July 13, 2008
    Welcome to d/grim grims. I have moved your post to 'technique' so more people see it.

First up you mentioned that photo is an example. If its not yours would you mind removing it & just inserting the link as we only post our own photos here...a link is fine. Let us know if you dont know how to do it & a mod will do it for you.

A long exposure isnt what your after...lighting is. Its very hard to talk to you about it when you dont understand it. A longer exposure wont change your light other than let more in.

Maybe set the camera to ISO 100 & the control to AV. As you then then close the aperture down...the exposure time will extend. Personally i think if you want less light then you need to remove more light from the photo.
  • Options
    edited July 13, 2008
    Yes I understand it quite well, the problem I am having is the candle light is not in the frame and is a distance away I am shining the candles through a series of shapes to get the shadowing the way I want it and the pics are coming out too dark. I was asking what others setup's were for a shot similar to that one which I found on google and was a public photo. Sorry I didn't realize the site was really strict on photo's. Anyway thanx for the advice.
  • Options