Options

Group Photos and indoor lighting

bellaphotobellaphoto Registered Users Posts: 100 Big grins
edited July 14, 2008 in Technique
HELP, i am not sure if i posted this in the correct Forum, i was asked by a Friend to Photograph his Highschool Reunion, All i own is a Nikon D40 with the basic Lens 18-55 and one zoom lens 55-200. i have never photographed large groups like this and do not know what i would need. some of it is outdoor and most is indoor at the school. i need advice. the last time i photographed a large group, most of the people came out Blurred and out of Focus. do i need more light, an assistant, a flash attachement??? i am pretty new to Photography but he is giving me a great opportunity here. Please Please Help. Thanks

Romina
Romina Ludovico

Comments

• Options
    MrBook2MrBook2 Registered Users Posts: 211 Major grins
    edited July 14, 2008
    I have never photographed anything quite that large, so I don't think I can be that much help. But I can say a few things while we wait for someone more knowledgeable to come and reply.

First off, yes, you probably need more light, but that is almost always true. You always want to have too much light at your disposal. If at all possible, you might want to try and do the biggest group shot early in the day, before the Sun goes down, so you can get everyone outside or near some large windows. The Sun is a very bright light source, and best of all, free. You will need to take some care if you try and do it in full sunlight, because you can get some bad shadows or have everyone squinting. Also, how big is this group? Is it a small private school with like 50 people, or is it a big class of 300 or more?