Options

Nikon D70 or Canon Rebel XT?

johnojohno Registered Users Posts: 617 Major grins
edited June 4, 2005 in Cameras
OK, Just thought I would get the scoop from anyone and everyone on these two cameras. I have a budget and these two seem to be in that price range. So, since I can't afford the Canon 20D, can anyone tell me why I should pick one over the other?

I want this to be a camera that stays with me for a while. A long while. I am new to DSLR's. All my shots have been taken with the Fuji S5000. So the rebel size is not a factor with my hands.

I know most of the specs of each camera, but I am not sure of the differences. Could someone just tell me "it's junk" or "You got to have it"

Since I am new to this, I would use my camera to shoot:
Landscape
Kids/Family
Sports
NO BIRDS! Sorry Harry, I reeeaaalllllly can't afford the lenses for that. HELLO!

Or should I wait another year and save the money to buy a 20D? :scratch Is there another camera I should be looking at?

I am counting on my dgrin friends for help. Thanks.

peace.
johno~
If we have no peace, it is because we have forgotten that we belong to each other.
~Mother Teresa

Canon 1D Mark II / Canon 50D / Canon 30D / Canon G9
Canon 50mm 1.4
Canon 24-105 f/4 L IS / Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L

blog
johno's gallery

Comments

• Options
    luckyrweluckyrwe Registered Users Posts: 952 Major grins
    edited May 12, 2005
    Between those two, I'd get the D70. Canon replaces their lowest end cameras like crazy. The XT will be two generations old in a year. The D70/D70s is current and I believe will be for a bit.

I shoot Canon, but I got my wife the D70. VERY nice camera, no low end appearance at all.

In my opinion I would opt for the D70, but only by a few points. Have you held both cameras in your hands yet?
  • Options
    NHBubbaNHBubba Registered Users Posts: 342 Major grins
    edited May 12, 2005
    Save yer money..
    It's all relative, or maybe subjective, but: