Options

starting overdue backup system

rwmjrwmj Registered Users Posts: 58 Big grins
edited August 1, 2009 in Digital Darkroom
I have recently purchased a 320 GB pocket media drive for my HP and started to do regular backups with the HP provided Backup MYPC software. My plan was to do weekly system backups and then daily incremental backups until the next full backup. I am new to the process but this seems to be ONE more or less conventional approach. Am I correct in thinking that this is a sound strategy or should I be considering other options? Is there other software that others would strongly recommend in place of BUMP? I know there are many options and it is a bit daunting to weigh all the different possibilities.

My first full system backup was almost 200 GB so I realize I can't have a two version set of backup files on this single drive. I was thinking I would get another pocket media drive but 500GB this time. Again other suggestions appreciated.

Thanks for the feedback.

Roy

Comments

• Options
    Wil DavisWil Davis Registered Users Posts: 1,692 Major grins
    edited July 27, 2009
    YMMV, but just about all the fancy-dancy backup software I've ever used is useless when you lose your system (including the backup software), and you're left with a brand new (installed from scratch) system without the backup software, but all your backups are in a proprietary format... :cry

I use robocopy¹; easiest, fastest², and most reliable (see above)

- Wil

¹ Robust Copy for Windows

² try doing the same thing with Windoze Explorer when the system has Norton or whatever AV software installed; ("glacial" doesn't even begin to describe it…)
    "…………………" - Marcel Marceau
  • Options
    geralds34geralds34 Registered Users Posts: 42 Big grins
    edited July 27, 2009
    SyncBack - try the free version
    The Paid SE does incrementals
  • Options
    cmasoncmason Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
    edited July 28, 2009