Options

help picking my first DSLR

brvheartbrvheart Registered Users Posts: 434 Major grins
edited August 2, 2009 in Cameras
Hello all,

first off great forum so far.

I currently shoot with a Canon S3 IS, it has proved to be versatile and has helped me capture some great shots. I am not biased when shooting and enjoy shooting every kind of shot out there. Mostly to capture my kids lives and our family heritage in general. I was going to go for a Canon XSi, but then the T1i caught my eye as one of the things that I love about the S3 is the ability to shoot video. And to get HD (although not true HD 20FPS) and a DSLR caught me as a perfect tool for me. Since I am just beginning and this is my first DSLR but I do not have the funds to buy one every year I will keep it for a while. I am still a photog newb (see some of the attached photos and you will agree) but absolutely love shooting. I do not want to be disappointed in everything that you gain from shooting with a DSLR by having one that does video as well. So I am asking for your expertise in helping me make an educated choice that I will not regret. I have attached just a couple of shots all taken with the S3, I look forward to posting more in the appropriate sections. Any CC on these welcomed as well.

Thank you in advanced for helping me make a good choice.

IMG_1977.JPG

IMG_1237_4.JPG

IMG_2224_crop.JPG

Comments

• Options
    JwarJwar Registered Users Posts: 112 Major grins
    edited July 13, 2009
    I would suggest you also give the Nikon D90 a chance. It has HD video and it's a great camera.

A couple of tips that helped me...