Options

How to make money from this hobby?

JatZillaJatZilla Registered Users Posts: 19 Big grins
edited October 16, 2009 in Mind Your Own Business
Let's say you're passionate about photography..you wake up before the crack of dawn to take pix, you drive out in blizzards to catch that special shot, etc etc.

How does a guy who has a regular job make money from his portfolio? What different ways can he make money from his pictures? Just looking for some direction. As you can tell, I'm new to this but have a lot of potential.

Secondly, how do you showcase your pictures on the net without fear of them getting 'stolen'? Sorry for the newbie questions.

thanks, JZ

Comments

• Options
    Cygnus StudiosCygnus Studios Registered Users Posts: 2,294 Major grins
    edited October 16, 2009
    JatZilla wrote:
    How does a guy who has a regular job make money from his portfolio? What different ways can he make money from his pictures? Just looking for some direction. As you can tell, I'm new to this but have a lot of potential.

Secondly, how do you showcase your pictures on the net without fear of them getting 'stolen'? Sorry for the newbie questions.

There are tons of ways to make money part time. Get some quality prints done and have local businesses hang them. Sell images to the local newspapers and magazines (pick up a copy of the Photographer's Market). Determine who your potential clients are and get your portfolio in front of them.

Most importantly, learn the business side. Taking spectacular images is great, but if you don't know who to sell them to, you will starve.

There is no completely safe way to put images on the internet. The best that you can do is, limit the size, watermark, and right click protect.

Showcasing your work is important, so keep the balance when limiting the size and watermarking. Just accept the fact that some images will be stolen, and do your best to market your images to the right people.

Also, register your copyrights....
    Steve