Options

Shooting in bright sunlight

OrpeanutOrpeanut Registered Users Posts: 33 Big grins
edited May 3, 2010 in Sports
Hi,
I've been shooting sports for about a year. I'm very green when it comes to camera settings. I was wondering how the more experienced guys would shoot a baseball game in bright sunlight? I have a Nikon D90 with a 70-200 2.8 lens. The last game I had bright sunlight and had my camera set on shutter priority between 3200 and 4000. The ISO was at 250 most of the time. My pictures looked fine on the camera, but way overexposed when I got home. I don't really understand histograms either other than you don't want anything on the edges. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• Options
    edited April 19, 2010
  • Options
    wadesworldwadesworld Registered Users Posts: 139 Major grins
    edited April 19, 2010
    The last game I had bright sunlight and had my camera set on shutter priority between 3200 and 4000.

I'm no expert, but a few thoughts:

1) It's counter-intuitive, but you generally don't want to shoot sports on shutter priority. Usually, you're looking for a nice wide aperture to blur distracting backgrounds when there's plenty of light, or a nice-wide aperture to give you sufficient shutter speed when there's limited light. On shutter priority, you have no control over this. You'll find most sports shooters use aperture priority or manual.

When there's insufficient light to get high enough shutter speed, you bump up your ISO. When your ISO is maxed and shutter speeds get too slow, you add light (usually not an option), put on a faster lens, or give up and take non-action shots the rest of the time.

2) Make sure your metering mode is correct. I usually use center-weighted.

3) You can use your camera's exposure compensation to back the exposure off by a stop or so.

4) Positioning can make a big difference. If you're shooting into the sun, exposure is going to be a challenge - period.