Options

Need some comments and suggestions from the Pro :D

chusonchuson Registered Users Posts: 26 Big grins
edited May 16, 2010 in Holy Macro
Hi all,

I've been buying and lurking on this forum for quite some time and this is my first time to post. Recently I got a Nikon 105mm AF-D lens and having fun with it. I'm shooting it with my Nikon D80 and hoping to replace it with a D300 soon.

Anyways, below is some of my shots. I see a lot of insects shot that seems to go beyond 1:1 magnification, such as insects eyes. I was wondering if the Kenko MC4 1.4X teleconvertor will be a good pair with my 105mm f2.8 AF-D lens, I know there's the Pro300 version but trying to keep the cost down. However, if the quality suffer too much I'm willing to go for the Pro version.

4520033384_e36a92e6de_b.jpg

4596955176_1358b00ed1_b.jpg

4596343635_1bdd360191_b.jpg

Too scare/afraid to get close to a busy bee... hence I need want some distance and more magnification @ the same time :rolleyes

4599900018_0ec909fb51_b.jpg

Comments

• Options
    Lord VetinariLord Vetinari Registered Users Posts: 15,900 Major grins
    edited May 12, 2010
    Lovely series of shots.
    Unless you are finding the focus distances too short, I'd go for a set of kenko extension tubes or similar auto ext tubes. less effect on picture quality and will get you to 2:1 with that lens.
    Brian v.
  • Options
    GOLDENORFEGOLDENORFE Super Moderators Posts: 4,747 moderator
    edited May 12, 2010
    a good series, love the spider, good sharpness and lighting [try rotating 90 dgrees portrait format ]
    go for extension tubes, much more versatile
    phil
  • Options
    edited May 12, 2010
    Lovely series of shots.
    Unless you are finding the focus distances too short, I'd go for a set of kenko extension tubes or similar auto ext tubes. less effect on picture quality and will get you to 2:1 with that lens.
    Brian v.