Options

Need help shooting people indoors with my D90. Please help.

noonephonenoonephone Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited May 15, 2010 in People
Hi, I just recently purchased my 90 with the 18-105 lens. I'm going to people shooting people in an indoor convention center pretty soon and I need to know the best idiot proof settings to work with. I will learn how to use manual later but for now I just need something that works.

I was thinking of using jpeg fine large (don't want to change this) and Program mode with central focus point and neutral with Sharpness on 6 and Saturation +1. Will the +1 be too much for skin tones?

My other option is Portrait mode. I'm unsure of what this actually does. I don't want to have to control apature and exposure. But I heard it does something better with skin or skintone? I'm new to this bare with me.

Anyway, any advice is greatly appreciated, thanks.

Comments

• Options
    FoquesFoques Registered Users Posts: 1,951 Major grins
    edited May 13, 2010
    it really depends on what kind of lighting you are looking at, there is no idiot proof setting, sorry.

I would expect that you will need to use an external flash.. Depending on the situation, I would be bouncing it off the ceiling.

If area is lit well enough, then, you can try and bump ISO a bit and try to pull 1/160-1/200 shutter speed.... But again, if you plan on using P mode, be ready for uncontrollable surprises.

What I do, in every venue I shoot, is do a dozen shots to see what settings work best to my liking.. then, shoot in RAW.. I will never ever ever go back to Jpeg (unless, I have to turn pictures over right there by the end of shoot).
    Arseny - the too honest guy.
    My Site
    My Facebook
  • Options
    zoomerzoomer Registered Users Posts: 3,688 Major grins
    edited May 13, 2010
  • Options
    QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited May 13, 2010
    do you have a flash? flash diffusers or modifiers?