Options

No Cake?

Jeremy WinterbergJeremy Winterberg Registered Users Posts: 1,233 Major grins
edited July 15, 2010 in Weddings
So, at the last wedding I shot a week ago they didn't have a cake... They had cupcakes. And, I asked them if they were going to do a cutting of the "cake" even though there wasn't one. And they said no. Their reasoning behind this came from the groom, "If we did that I would be too tempted to shove it all over her face. And then I will be in major trouble tonight!". THATS THE POINT OF IT!! You're supposed to embarrass your spouse lol!

Anyone think this is strange? I'm kinda new to weddings but I've always seen there be a cutting of the cake. Its like the kiss, its a staple shot. you have to have it.
Jer

Comments

• Options
    urbanariesurbanaries Registered Users Posts: 2,690 Major grins
    edited July 5, 2010
    So, at the last wedding I shot a week ago they didn't have a cake... They had cupcakes. And, I asked them if they were going to do a cutting of the "cake" even though there wasn't one. And they said no. Their reasoning behind this came from the groom, "If we did that I would be too tempted to shove it all over her face. And then I will be in major trouble tonight!". THATS THE POINT OF IT!! You're supposed to embarrass your spouse lol!

Anyone think this is strange? I'm kinda new to weddings but I've always seen there be a cutting of the cake. Its like the kiss, its a staple shot. you have to have it.

I've had weddings with no cake. Most recently a NYE wedding. They introduced several of their own fun traditions, and that's what it's all about these days, making a wedding your own and not conforming just to say you conformed. I am there to capture their day, not my idea of what should happen! ;)
    Canon 5D MkI
    50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 24-70 2.8L, 35mm 1.4L, 135mm f2L
    ST-E2 Transmitter + (3) 580 EXII + radio poppers
  • Options
    david_hdavid_h Registered Users Posts: 463 Major grins
    edited July 5, 2010