Options

Looking for feedback....

jedgar8585jedgar8585 Registered Users Posts: 22 Big grins
edited August 2, 2005 in Technique
I'm looking for feed back as to how and improve pictures like this one. I'm new to DSLR photography and I'm eager to learn! I'm using an Olympus Evolt E-300. The settings were 150mm, f22, 1/8 sec shutter and ISO 100. I cropped this image to 640 x 480.

Comments

• Options
    XO-StudiosXO-Studios Registered Users Posts: 457 Major grins
    edited July 27, 2005
    jedgar8585 wrote:
    I'm looking for feed back as to how and improve pictures like this one. I'm new to DSLR photography and I'm eager to learn! I'm using an Olympus Evolt E-300. The settings were 150mm, f22, 1/8 sec shutter and ISO 100. I cropped this image to 640 x 480.
    OK see attached I hope you do not mind.

I moved the white point in a little, and then added contrast by pulling the curve, qand steepening it as well.

I was going to sharpen as well, but noticed a BUNCH of JPEG artifacts in the center of the pic.

Still 30 seconds in Photoshop, and a lot more 'pop'.

FWIW,

XO,
    You can't depend on your eyes when your imagination is out of focus.
    Mark Twain

Some times I get lucky and when that happens I show the results here: http://www.xo-studios.com
  • Options
    Shay StephensShay Stephens Registered Users Posts: 3,165 Major grins
    edited July 27, 2005
    You can avoid diffraction blurring by using a wider aperture. I don't know what the sweet spot is on your lens, but try f/8 and compare it with f/22, I think you will be pleased with the improvement in both shutter speed and sharpness.

Small apertures like f/22 give you a wider field of view, but many mistake that with sharper pictures, and that is not the case. It is a trade off between greater DOF and diffraction blurring. The sweet spot of the lens is the point where diffraction blurring (small aperture induced) is at it smallest and aberrations (wide aperture induced) are at their smallest.