Options

Why to shoot in Raw?

98olds98olds Registered Users Posts: 137 Major grins
edited September 18, 2010 in Cameras
Ok this might seem like a dumb question, and honestly i feel dumb for asking it.

I have been using DSLRs for a couple of years now, and am wondering what are the differences between shooting jpg and shooting raw?
I do know that raw files take up more hard disk space.

What are the benefits of shooting raw compared to jpg?

What are the benefits of shooting jpg compared to raw?

basically what I am asking is, should I stop using jpg and start shooting raw?
Why shoot raw compared to shoot jpg that takes up less hard disk space?

Thanks
Nikon D3000
Nikkor 18-55mm Kit Lens
Nikkor 55-200mm VR Lens
Nikkor 18-105mm VR Lens
Nikkor 70-300mm VR Lens

Nikon SB-600 speedlight

Nikon EM Film SLR
50mm Lens

85mm Lens

Canon Powershot SX100IS

Comments

• Options
    FoquesFoques Registered Users Posts: 1,951 Major grins
    edited August 6, 2010
    RAW file has much more data to it than a jpeg. That said, you have much more freedom working with RAW data.

should you or should you not is a personal choice, however.

I know that once I used RAW, I have never came back to shooting jpeg.
    Arseny - the too honest guy.
    My Site
    My Facebook
  • Options
    98olds98olds Registered Users Posts: 137 Major grins
    edited August 6, 2010
    Wow! Thanks for the quick response!

What do you mean when you say "much more data is stored than a jpeg"? and What kind of freedom do i have more of working with RAW?

Basically im confused with what RAW files actually are, and what can be done with them i guess.... like i said i feel dumb asking this.
    Nikon D3000
    Nikkor 18-55mm Kit Lens
    Nikkor 55-200mm VR Lens
    Nikkor 18-105mm VR Lens
    Nikkor 70-300mm VR Lens

Nikon SB-600 speedlight

Nikon EM Film SLR
    50mm Lens

85mm Lens

Canon Powershot SX100IS
  • Options
    FoquesFoques Registered Users Posts: 1,951 Major grins
    edited August 6, 2010