Options

Wide Angle help for Christmas

Bigfoot424Bigfoot424 Registered Users Posts: 14 Big grins
edited December 17, 2010 in Accessories
Hi All,

Still a newbie here as well as a very newbie photographer. I have a Nikon D 90 with a 18-200 lens that I really like. I'd like to buy a wide angle lens and will get one for Christmas if I can find one I can afford. I primarily love taking pics of the outdoors as well as historical sites. Many of the outdoor pics are in the mountains but really I like to take all kinds of pics. I am not buying one to go into business but for personal reasons only. I've been told by several people I can find a decent one in the 500-600 range. Do you really believe this or by getting this I'm setting myself up for disappointment? If this can be purchased at this price do you have any recs on particular ones that will fit my lens?
Thanks

Comments

• Options
    senorjaxsenorjax Registered Users Posts: 298 Major grins
    edited December 14, 2010
    Sure, you can get a wide angle lens for 600 or less that won't leave you wanting for more (for awhile). But which one depends on what exactly you are looking for. Your 18-200 is already pretty wide and if you like it why buy another?

If you are wanting to go even wider, you're in luck. Check out the Tokina 11-16. Lots of happy owners will tell you that it beats the Nikon offerings in this price and angle range. I think it's one of the best deals of any lens period, and the new price is just under 600. BUT. But, it's really wide, so it's still a bit of a niche lens. At 11mm it can make Old Faithful look like a drinking fountain down the block, so you have to ask yourself if you want to blow your whole budget on a lens at the very far end of the wide angle spectrum.