Options

Pricing Help

DianeHDianeH Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited February 12, 2011 in Mind Your Own Business
Hello to the group. I'm an intermediate photographer. Just now venturing out into business. From OKC, OK. I do mostly horses (stock shots and action events). I also do some dog agility. And I'm just starting to venture out into senior portraits, pets and people, etc.

My problem is that I have NOOOOOO idea what to charge per print. I'm thinking about signing up with SmugMug (cuz I love their site!), but I still need to have some basic idea where to set my prices.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks, Diane

Comments

• Options
    SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
    edited February 9, 2011
    Hi Diane,

I realize this may sound like a simple question to you, but it is anything but a simple question.

I would suggest you go online and search all the photographers in your area and see what they are charging. Then realistically compare your images to theirs.

What are you offering that the other guys aren't? If your offering prints do you have any experience with printing? Is your monitor color calibrated? Do your prints match what you see on your monitor?

As an example if you look through various SmugMug sites you might see 8X10 prints on one site for $2.00 or $3.00 and on another $45.00 or so.

As you move forward with your research and refine your questions I think you will get more responses.

Sam
  • Options
    GerryDavidGerryDavid Registered Users Posts: 439 Major grins
    edited February 9, 2011
    I suggest looking at the established local photographers that have realistic prices. Not the company that has been around for 6 months and charges $5 for an 8x10. :)