Options

Canon Tilt and Shift Lens

Dan7312Dan7312 Registered Users Posts: 1,330 Major grins
edited March 29, 2011 in Cameras
I'm not a pro but I'm looking at the different Canon tilt and shift lenses because it's something I've want to try my hand at for a long time. I've got a bunch of questions here because I want to understand the trade-offs and differences between the T and S lenses Canon offers.

The 17 and 24 have a "rotate" function that the other do not appear to not have. I think I understand the geometry of swings and tilts, though I never used a camera that had them, and I assume the tilt and shift means the about the same thing, but I don't know what rotate means other than the obvious that your can rotate the axis of the tilt and shift. Why is this a useful feature? If I get a T and S lens it will be for a 7D. I want to get because I want to remove the convergence of lines in the image, not PS, and I want to pull near and far into focus too.

One of the T and S lens is 90mm. It seems like T and S lens would intrinsically be wide angle. Why is there a 90mm T and S lens and is it used a lot? Is it just that it took a long time for Canon to make a wide angle T and S lens?

The manual for the lenses recommends using a FF camera. On the 7D the FOV will be smaller, but that is true for any lens. Other than that why does Canon specifically recommend FF camera? Wouldn't using the 17 on a 7D be about the same as using about a 26 on an FF?

The 17 looks to me like a fish-eye lens because the glass sticks out, but the images on the Canon site appear to have perfect perspective and straight lines. I assume that one of the things that makes these lenses special is the fact that they don't distort the image. Is that the case?

The 24 looks like it is the newest of the series. Does it that imply something the others don't have?