Options

computer advice

ladytxladytx Registered Users Posts: 814 Major grins
edited May 18, 2011 in Digital Darkroom
Am looking at this computer for photography/video. Would like some feedback and advice as to whether this computer would do all the tasks involved quickly. Are the components any good. Any other thoughts or recommendations. Buy a pre-made computer or have one built?

Processor - Intel Core i7
Processor Speed 3.4 GHZ with turbo boost
Cache Memory - 8 mg
RAM - 8 gb (would add 2 gb memory)
Type of RAM - DDR3 SDRAM
Hard Drive Type - SATA (7200 rpm)
Graphics Card - ATI Radeio HD 5770
Video Memory - 1 gb
Windows 7
LadyTX

Comments

• Options
    chuckinsocalchuckinsocal Registered Users Posts: 932 Major grins
    edited April 30, 2011
    I'm no expert but that looks like a pretty powerful system to me.

Here's a list of benchmarks for all the various processors. Note the sub models within the Core i7 series. Some are significantly faster than others. More expensive too. I don't know how valid these benchmarks are but I used them as a guide in choosing my new computer last month.

I hope this helps a little.
    Chuck Cannova
    www.socalimages.com

Artistically & Creatively Challenged
  • Options
    lanaerlanaer Registered Users Posts: 78 Big grins
    edited April 30, 2011
    Remember that at this point, the hard drive is by far the slowest part of your system, and from experience a good SSD can make a huge difference.
  • Options
    PupatorPupator Registered Users Posts: 2,322 Major grins
    edited April 30, 2011
    That's a good system.

Two things:
    1) get an SSD if you can. Even if it's only a small one used for Windows and applications, and you keep your data on a HDD
    2) don't upgrade to 10GB of RAM. Either go up to 12 or leave it at 8.
  • Options
    edited April 30, 2011