Options

Super-advanced booking

KinkajouKinkajou Registered Users Posts: 1,240 Major grins
edited June 1, 2011 in Weddings
I am working with a bride now who is trying to make a decision on a photographer for her 2014 wedding. Yes. Two thousand and fourteen!

I quoted her (assuming she had mistyped the year) and things seemed to be moving along well. When she told me that 2014 was in fact correct and she was just feeling around to get an idea, I said that as a heads up most photographers increase their rates annually, so she can't be guaranteed a price from me or any other photographer until a contract is signed. Her response to that was that she is hoping to make a decision and sign a contract soon.

So... I'm obviously feeling conflicted here. I'm new in the industry and still desperate for gigs, but 2014 is a long time from now, so who know what my rates would be by that point or where I'll be in life (or where she'll be in life!). I have not said anything about 'I only book a maximum X months in advance' (because I didn't have that policy yet), which I now feel like might be a little late to do if I want to maintain the relationship... but she must know that she's catching me between a rock and a hard place.

Anyway, I know I need to make a decision here and either way it'll get chalked up to a lesson learned, but my question for you guys is what is your maximum months in advance that you'll book? 12? 18? 24? No max?

Thanks!
Webpage

Spread the love! Go comment on something!

Comments

• Options
    ssimmonsphotossimmonsphoto Registered Users Posts: 424 Major grins
    edited May 27, 2011
    I don't have a policy in place, but I don't want to book more than 24 months in advance for all of the reasons you have given. Plus, what if something happens to you in the next bunch of years? I have a hard time with the 24 months sometimes, but I also like knowing that I'll still have business in two years.