Options

Weddings

gubbsgubbs Registered Users Posts: 3,166 Major grins
edited September 12, 2005 in Technique
A good friend has asked me to shoot her wedding in August (the whole package!!). I'm touched by her confidence in me, but I'm also slightly terrified! I know what a skilled job this is and I've no experience at all.
I want to do it but not if I can't do a good job. Before I say yes (or no), can anyone offer advice (even if it's "don't do it") with regard to the organisation, tecnique and equipment.

Many Thanks

Comments

• Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited November 1, 2004
    don't do it. or ...
    gubbs wrote:
    A good friend has asked me to shoot her wedding in August (the whole package!!). I'm touched by her confidence in me, but I'm also slightly terrified! I know what a skilled job this is and I've no experience at all.
    I want to do it but not if I can't do a good job. Before I say yes (or no), can anyone offer advice (even if it's "don't do it") with regard to the organisation, tecnique and equipment.

Many Thanks

unless wedding photography were my thing, i wouldn't do it ... way too much pressure, and the thought of damaging a friendship looms large...

now - can you apprentice on a couple of weddings between now and then? yeah. and read some good books? and pore thru a few dozen quality wedding galleries? yup. and you'll need some new gear. like a 20d, a second body (backup).. a flash ... a bit of good glass ... perhaps some additional lights for the formals. .. an assistant .. etc etc.

check out shay's wedding gallery and ulysses' too

and, you've got to develop the eye for shots like these

talk about pressure! well, if anyone can do it, you can. you've got the talent to pick it up. so, if it's something you see yourself doing more than just a lark, then by all means, dive in, make a plan, and gain the skills you need.

good luck thumb.gif
  • Options