Options

Canon 7D vs 5D Markii

tshaddicktshaddick Registered Users Posts: 185 Major grins
edited July 26, 2011 in Cameras
Hey all,

I am thinking about picking up a second camera body, and I am looking for your opinion on whether I should get a 7D or 5D Markii. Obviously there is a big price difference between the two, so I am wondering whether the extra price is worth it.

I mainly take wildlife and motorcycle racing photography. So I like the cropped sensor of the 7D (which I currently own) so that I get the extra zoom for the far away shots.

I am just wondering other than the obvious difference of the 5D being full frame, whether I will see any difference in the image quality. To me it seems like they both have the same processor, but I am not really good with all the technical details.

So I would appreciate the feedback of anyone that has tried both out.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    insanefredinsanefred Registered Users Posts: 604 Major grins
    edited June 18, 2011
    tshaddick wrote: »
    Hey all,

I am thinking about picking up a second camera body, and I am looking for your opinion on whether I should get a 7D or 5D Markii. Obviously there is a big price difference between the two, so I am wondering whether the extra price is worth it.

I mainly take wildlife and motorcycle racing photography. So I like the cropped sensor of the 7D (which I currently own) so that I get the extra zoom for the far away shots.

I am just wondering other than the obvious difference of the 5D being full frame, whether I will see any difference in the image quality. To me it seems like they both have the same processor, but I am not really good with all the technical details.

So I would appreciate the feedback of anyone that has tried both out.

Thanks

If you're not sure which body right now, stick with the 7D. Or try to rent a 5d2 and decide for yourself.
    The extra zoom is a myth, you DO NOT GET ANY MORE ZOOM. Instead you just lose FOV vs full frame.