Options

is it upgrading or downgrading?

choudhrysaabchoudhrysaab Registered Users Posts: 249 Major grins
edited August 28, 2011 in Cameras
I currently have Canon 40D and Canon 24-105mm IS L lens. I purchased these because I was thinking of getting into professional photography but I suppose that's not my calling therefore I didn't quit my day job. Now that I don't really need such expensive lens since I'm just a hobbyist so I'm thinking I should sell my current setup and purchase the new Canon 60D with 18-200mm IS lens. Its got more bells and whistles than 40D with a Digic4 processor and I can also shoot 1080p videos with it as well. Not sure if going from current setup to 60D will up an upgrade or downgrade as I'm upgrading the body but downgrading the lens.

What do you guys think?

Comments

• Options
    puzzledpaulpuzzledpaul Registered Users Posts: 1,621 Major grins
    edited August 14, 2011
    I'd have thought the answer largely depends on what sort of photography you want to do?

The only bit of your kit that I personally have direct experience of using is the 40D - which (altho 'old') is still a capable cam.
    Personally, I'd never get rid of decent glass - as you'll always see the difference and invariably lament letting such items go - altho' there are many Canon shooters around who'd be more than willing to relieve you of the the 24-105 for a song :)

Why not use the gear you've already got to its maximum extent for a while longer, take note of focal lengths used the most / types of pics liked the most / enjoyed taking etc ... and review the situation later?

The video aspect is a red herring imo ...

pp
  • Options
    DogdotsDogdots Registered Users Posts: 8,795 Major grins
    edited August 14, 2011
    I have the 40D and the 24-105 and love my combo. I use it all the time. The camera nor the lens never let me down. There is better out there to buy, but if your just doing it as a hobby .. it's a great combo in my opinion.
  • Options