Options

Off-camera speedlites

travischancetravischance Registered Users Posts: 642 Major grins
edited October 25, 2011 in Technique
Strobist newbie here. In December or January, I purchased a Calumet Genesis 400 monolight (for sale here) & a Radio Popper JrX transmitter + receiver that has seen zero use. I'm now looking to invest in a solid strobist kit & have been tirelessly researching off-camera lighting. I currently own 1 Canon 580EX II. Initially, I thought that the Canon ST-E2 would be perfect until I read that it must have line of site with the speedlites & could easily trigger in bright light. I have several questions that I hope can be clarified.

1. If I purchase a radio system (Radio Popper PX or Pocket Wizard MiniTT1 / Flex TT5), will have the benefit of firing two 580EX II units in ETTL with high speed sync?

In lieu of purchasing another Canon speedlite, I was considering purchasing two Vivitar 285HV units. While I realize that they do not have TTL capability, they do have an "auto mode".

2. Will I be able to fire the Vivitar units using a large aperture (2.8 or better) & with high shutter speed, 1/1250+ if needed?

3. Is there a way to fire the Vivitar units off-camera with my current 580EX II as the master (on-camera)?

4. Lastly, would it be suggested to purchase a reflector/diffuser kit (i.e. Lastolite TriGrip), umbrellas or softboxes as a shoot-through?

Thank You in advance!
Travis M. Chance
twin Mark IV's & a bunch of "L" glass
sitefacebook

Comments

• Options
    QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited October 19, 2011
    1. I know for sure that with pocket wizards mini/flex you can do ETTL with more than one strobe. I *think* the radio popper non jr can do the same thing.

2. no idea about vivitar. in gneral I would just stay awy from them if money is not an issue.