Options

Mileage for traveling question

GemGemGemGem Registered Users Posts: 355 Major grins
edited November 22, 2011 in Mind Your Own Business
Hi!

I have a photo shoot coming up that is 96 miles from my location. Customer agrees to pay for extra mileage, but since it is my first time charging for mileage, I am not sure what the standard is. Should I charge round trip or one way? :dunno

Thanks!
GG

Comments

• Options
    jpcjpc Registered Users Posts: 840 Major grins
    edited November 16, 2011
    Charge at least $1 per mile - both ways.
  • Options
    Mark DickinsonMark Dickinson Registered Users Posts: 337 Major grins
    edited November 16, 2011
    do the government .51 cents per mile. that is always helpful to justify it if you want to. otherwise if you want to get paid to travel (1.00 per mile is high) you usually do 1 mile per minute in a car, and thats like 180.00 for 4 hours of travel $45/hr to drive. Time is money yes, feel your client.

51 c per mile would be about 90.00.
  • Options
    jpcjpc Registered Users Posts: 840 Major grins
    edited November 16, 2011
    So if the OP was to charge $200 for a 2-hr shoot, an additional 4 hours of driving would only be an extra $96 @ $0.51 per mile.

2 hrs = $200. 6 hrs = $296.00

Sorry, but I think that is far too little. What if another client asked the OP for a shoot the same day and it couldn't happen because of the drive time required for the first shoot? Now how much is that extra 4 hours worth?
  • Options
    moose135moose135 Registered Users Posts: 1,419 Major grins
    edited November 16, 2011