Options

Learning to use LAB color space

HiggmeisterHiggmeister Registered Users Posts: 909 Major grins
edited October 5, 2005 in Technique
Well, I just had to have a go at it. I read an article (here in pdf) on using LAB to achieve a Fuji Velvia effect. So, I took some pictures today with my V3 and used his technique and then used my normal RGB processing.

My conclusion is it is easier to get the pop in LAB than playing with the Hue/Sat adjustment layer. What I did see is that if I push the blue in the sky in RGB as far as I did in LAB, the contact between sky and clouds got funky. The RGB below was pushed but not to the same level as the LAB because it started to do some wierd things. The histogram of the original was fairly well centered. Now, I'm no retouch expert so these could have been done much better, but I do see some potential for using LAB. It's not for everyone, but it'll be a tool in my toolbox. Here are the two results:

RGB
50292516.jpg
Sony DSC-V3 1/500s f/5.6 at 7.0mm iso100

And the LAB version
50292510.jpg
Sony DSC-V3 1/500s f/5.6 at 7.0mm iso100

Just thought I'd share my inexperienced conclusion playing with LAB. I had to compress quite a bit to get a reasonable file size. Both examples are compressed at the same setting.

Chris

A picture is but words to the eyes.
Comments are always welcome.

www.pbase.com/Higgmeister

Comments

• Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,697 moderator
    edited October 5, 2005
    I think this is an excellent example of the usefullness of LAB processing. I like the increased color and saturation in the leaves and the water. Not sure I prefer the extra blue in the sky, but it is more saturated than the sky in the first image.

I have an example of my own here also. The first frame was shot with a 10D in Oct 2003 of a statue outside the Aquarium in Chattanooga.
    1039747-L.jpg