Options

Lens - Nifty Fifty

BailiejoBailiejo Registered Users Posts: 99 Big grins
edited August 20, 2012 in Accessories
I was told this was a good lens to buy for portraits, closeups, indoors or outdoors. I'm on the B&H website and see two different 50mm lenses with a very different price. I'm just starting out with photography - Can someone advise me as to which lens I should purchase? I'm not planning on going into business with the camera - just a fun hobby. Also, I can't justify purchasing a Macro lens at this time, however, was told that Extension tubes maybe all I need. How do I know which extension tubes to buy. My camera is a Nikon D5100.

Thanks

AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.4G Autofocus Lens
Fast f/1.4 Prime Nikkor Lens
Silent Wave Motor/Fast, Accurate AF
Ideal Portrait Lens on DX-format D-SLRs
Super Integrated Coating (SIC)
Close Focusing to 1.5' (0.5 m)
Normal Angle of View on FX-format D-SLRs
Weighs only 9.9 oz (280 g)
Only 2.1" (54.2mm) Long
B&H # NI5014GAF

AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G Lens
Fast f/1.8 Compact FX-Format Prime Lens
Beautiful Background Blur (Bokeh)
Superior Color Consistency
Reduce Lens Flare and Ghosting
Effective Aberration Correction
Fast, Accurate and Quiet Autofocus
Quick Switching from AF to MF
Compatible With DX Format
B&H # NI5018GAF

Comments

• Options
    ZBlackZBlack Registered Users Posts: 337 Major grins
    edited August 18, 2012
    Someone more knowledgeable will chime in shortly. If you're not in it to make money, I would get the 1.8g model which is the cheaper one. Both are fantastic lenses, and both have great low light performance. The 1.4 will have better low light capabilities and shallower depth of field, if you use it at it's widest aperture. But unless you plan to shoot in really dark places, I don't see the justification in the cost difference. Some may have other thoughts on it though!
  • Options
    PhotogbikerPhotogbiker Registered Users Posts: 351 Major grins
    edited August 18, 2012