Options

Defining characteristics for Smugmug pro for hobbyists

arjunrcarjunrc Registered Users Posts: 159 Major grins
edited September 3, 2012 in SmugMug Pro Sales Support
Hi, given the doubling of price, I thought I'd start a thread specifically for folks who want 'Pro' features but are hobbyists. The 'Price increase' thread has gone through many pages of different opinions, and I thought I saw the CEO of SM being open to considering what is a right feature/price point for hobbyists:

The big question is 'Does SM find it business wise relevant to support hobbyists?' - that I can't answer, but assuming it is, its worth knowing what hobbyists want (or at least, my opinion of it):

I am a hobbyist who would like an option to sell, along with the convenience of automated print and delivery to customers. I'd like to pen down what my thoughts of features are and where a compromise could be reached by SM. Personally, I can afford $300 for a year, but given the return I get from this hobby, it is not worth that money - which is why 'only $XX per day' or 'a pack of cigarettes less' per day analogies don't apply.

I only recently joined SM and frankly I get my pro acct free, because I developed PB2SMUG (Very nice of them to do this), but even so this price is as a matter of principle, off its base for hobbyists.

Given all of this, I think SM is a company that cares for its users and listens to feedback. Here is what I can suggest as a package:

1. Keep the price to $99. That's still 4x the price of a PBase, for example (yes, I know its not an apple-apple comparison)

2. Don't offer unlimited space. Instead, while uploading offer a 'checkbox' that says 'discard originals' which basically means it will only retain, say, 800x600 or 1024xxxx