Options

I don't get it...

lynnmalynnma Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 5,207 Major grins
edited October 5, 2013 in Accessories
:dunno

Hi everyone. So, I'm taking a group shot tomorrow in natural light and I want to add some strobe light. I'm new at using strobes by the way, still practicing. So I set up my lights (inside to practice) and attach my new Sekonic Flashmate L-308S to a pole where my subject will be. I trigger the flashes after matching iso - shutter speeds etc and I'm looking for an aperture setting.. the setting my flashmate gives me is constantly way way off - totally under exposed. In manual mode lowering the shutter speed way down to 60 the aperture now gives me 22!! at 250 it's giving me 8 - all hugely underexposed... what the heck am I doing wrong. I've gone blank. Is it just that there is not enough light?? if so, why doesn't my flashmate adjust for that...:dunno thanks in advance cos I know you'll know....

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,809 moderator
    edited September 6, 2013
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • Options
    edited September 6, 2013
  • Options
    SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
    edited September 6, 2013
  • Options
    cmasoncmason Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
    edited September 6, 2013
    Sounds like your light meter may be getting fooled by the pre-flash, but not sure.
  • Options
    PhotogbikerPhotogbiker Registered Users Posts: 351 Major grins
    edited September 7, 2013
    silly mistake I make more often than I want to admit is not setting my ISO correct on my flash meter (match camera setting). When something computerish like a flash meter is giving you an answer that can't be right, better check the question. Flash meters can fail, but I would exhaust all of the items of user input first. Pre-flash is a great comment also.