Options

Differences between Nikon and Canon bodies ergos

robscomputerrobscomputer Registered Users Posts: 326 Major grins
edited January 1, 2006 in Cameras
I've been reading about Nikon gear recently and wonder just what is different from the standard Nikon design to the standard Canon design for bodies. From what I seen personally, Nikon cameras typically have more controls placed on the camera for funcations like metering or frame advance. From Canon cameras I seen they typically have menu driven, less physical buttons or levers but funcations are set in the menu system.

I've only shot with a Nikon F5 but compared to my Canon camera I did like the easy access to the funcation, compared to the menu style.

Is there any other differences?

Thanks,
Rob
Enjoying photography since 1980.

Comments

• Options
    kdogkdog Administrators Posts: 11,681 moderator
    edited December 29, 2005
    I'm no expert, but a casual comparison of similar Nikon and Canon cameras does not seem to support your contention that Canon doesn't make its features readily accessable by buttons.

Nikon D70
    specsview.jpg

Canon 20D
    inhand01.jpg

Here's what I see.

Canon 13 buttons, 4 thumbwheels, 1 joystick, 1 on/off switch, shutter btn
    Nikon 12 buttons, 2 thumbwheels, 1 joystick, 1 on/off switch, shutter btn

This isn't meant to be an exact comparison of course. There are other buttons on both cameras that can't be seen. Plus I may have missed a button or two. But still, it appears that if anything, the Canon has more controls.

Are there any specific features that you want to compare? I know the 20D pretty well and would be happy to engage in a feature by feature comparison if you want to get down and dirty.
  • Options
    robscomputerrobscomputer Registered Users Posts: 326 Major grins
    edited December 29, 2005