Options

fireworks

Aaron WilsonAaron Wilson Registered Users Posts: 339 Major grins
edited July 5, 2006 in Technique
What is the best way to shoot fire works? is it just to use the bulb mode? or try to shot it.
www.dipphoto.com
All feed back is welcomed!!

http://www.dipphoto.com/

:lust :lust

Comments

• Options
    DavidTODavidTO Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited July 4, 2006
    What is the best way to shoot fire works? is it just to use the bulb mode? or try to shot it.

I'm no expert on this, but I would definitely shoot bulb, since I would want to time my exposures to the action. I'd shoot low ISO, f8, rattle some off and see where I stand. I think you'd probably end up shooting f11, though...or maybe higher.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • Options
    spudjerspudjer Registered Users Posts: 42 Big grins
    edited July 4, 2006

Aaron, this article was posted on a previous thread...

http://www.nikonnet.com/dyn/articles/article_detail/227.html

I have used the technique for lightning and it works great.

Good luck!ylsuper.gif

spudjer
    I'm worried about Gort. I'm afraid of what he might do, if anything should happen to me.:dood

Gort! Klaatu barada nikto!
  • Options
    NikolaiNikolai Registered Users Posts: 19,035 Major grins
    edited July 4, 2006
    Go 4 sec

I mean ISO 100, 4 sec. Play around with f/8..f/11. If you shoot RAW, set to f/10 and you'll get away with it:-).
    Our very own Mike Lane recently published an excellent series of fireworks images, just check out his settings and find the ones you likie most of all:-)

HTH
    "May the f/stop be with you!"
  • Options
    NikolaiNikolai Registered Users Posts: 19,035 Major grins
    edited July 4, 2006
    I honestly don't get the card thingie...
    spudjer wrote: