Online music services

DJ-S1DJ-S1 Registered Users Posts: 2,303 Major grins
edited October 21, 2006 in The Big Picture
Help out a dummy here. My 10yo son now has an MP3/video player - Creative Zev V Plus 2GB - and now he's bugging me to download songs. I have no experience in this area.

What do you consider the best online music site and why?

Comments

• DoctorItDoctorIt Administrators Posts: 11,951 moderator
    edited October 20, 2006
    iTunes, cuz it's easy, fast, huuuge selection (at least I've never been disappointed). I think prices per song/album are pretty much the same across the board. However, I don't like Napster and any others that require a subscription. iTunes is come and go/buy as you please.

also, when you finally get a real mp3 player (i.e. iPod) the integration is so easy and seamless, you'll wonder how you'd use anything else.

that being said, I don't have any experience with any other music players and iTunes. my guess would be that you don't lose too much in terms of transferring songs back and forth.
    Erik
    moderator of: The Flea Market [ guidelines ]

• DJ-S1DJ-S1 Registered Users Posts: 2,303 Major grins
    edited October 20, 2006
    I figured iTunes would probably end up being the choice but since I have no clue what all is out there, I thought I'd ask. Thanks, Doc.thumb.gif

Now as to the not-so-subtle slam of my first-born child's electronic device: it's a pretty sweet thing, plays videos, photos, songs and has a built-in FM tuner - I think it was around $130-ish? I'm not positive but I don't think there's a iPod that does all that for that price. It even lets me set the max volume allowed with a password, which I thought was really nice (although my son doesn't think so). It's just not white. :cool
  • marlinspikemarlinspike Registered Users Posts: 2,095 Major grins
    edited October 20, 2006