Options

Help please? Blur issues.

Ashleighsmommy06Ashleighsmommy06 Registered Users Posts: 13 Big grins
edited February 19, 2007 in Technique
Hi everyone! I am brand new to Dgrin AND photography in general. I'm taking class upon class to get a grasp on things and its slowly coming together. :scratch

My question is, how do I eliminate blur when shooting subjects that rarely stop moving? My children are 6 months and 2.5 years and NEVER stop moving. I try to use a 5.6 aperture when shooting them and it's usually a pretty bright room and I use a tripod. But it doesn't seem to work. I really don't want to use flash... any suggestions? :dunno

I've seen many of your photos on here and they are just so clear, bright and amazing... :bow any tips would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

Jill
Canon Rebel XTi
Canon 17-85mm, 70-300mm
So new that I don't even know what those numbers mean!

Comments

• Options
    RhuarcRhuarc Registered Users Posts: 1,464 Major grins
    edited February 15, 2007
    Welcome to DGrin!! I'm in a little bit the same boat as you, having just purchased the XTi as well. I've been doing tons of reading though, so I'll try to answer your question till someone else comes along who can answer better! (probably won't have long to wait!:D) In basic answer to your question, if you want to stop motion blur you have to do one thing, increase your shutter speed to stop the motion. There are a couple of ways of doing this, and they all have tradeoffs.

Option 1 - Increase the ISO, this will increase the sensitivity of the sensor, allowing a faster shutterspeed to capture the same amount of light. The downside to this is usually higher ISO's start introducing noise into the picture.

Option 2 - Get "faster" glass. The wider open you can shoot, from an apeture stand point, the more light is hitting the sensor, the faster the shutter speed can be. The downside? COST. The lenses with wider open apetures in general are also more expensive.