Options

help with portrait blurs please

Lilley PhotographyLilley Photography Registered Users Posts: 67 Big grins
edited April 10, 2007 in People
I'm a beginner photographer. I started taking my daughter's Senior pictures and the next thing I know, I'm doing lots of photoshoots and staying busy... which I'm truly greatful for.

I do have a concern. (Mainly because I've been asked to take twirling recital pictures soon... group shots) The problem that I have is that when I take pictures of things in front of something... things blur. I've tried changing my settings to different things but...... I'm at a lost. Otherwise, my pictures are turning out really good.

This link is to some of the pictures that show my concern. The little boy is clear but his hand and toy cars are blurry. I have this problem occasionally.

http://lilleyphotography.smugmug.com/gallery/2643740#139772788

These were taken on manuel 1/125 2.8 400 ISO with a portrait lens. At first I was taking them on AV instead of manuel but that didn't seem to work good. It was once suggested to put it on A-DEP but they seem really blurry that way.

Help appreciated,
www.LilleyPhotos.com
Felicia Lilley

Comments

• Options
    ElaineElaine Registered Users Posts: 3,532 Major grins
    edited April 10, 2007
    I'm sure others can give a more complete answer, but using an aperture of 2.8 means you have a very shallow depth of focus. You focused on his face, so that plane is in focus...anything much in front of his face or behind his face will be blurred. Perhaps try f/5.6 or smaller?

Elaine
    Elaine

Comments and constructive critique always welcome!

Elaine Heasley Photography
  • Options
    JimFuglestadJimFuglestad Registered Users Posts: 152 Major grins
    edited April 10, 2007
    Lilley,

This isn't "blur" per se... the cars and hands are just out of the depth of field (dof).

When shooting at 2.8 your dof will be quite shallow. If you shot this at f8 it all would have been in focus.