Options

Nice pan shots?

ruttrutt Registered Users Posts: 6,511 Major grins
edited February 13, 2005 in Technique
I want a lesson in shooting nice pan shots.

This was the best I got yestderday when I tried:

15619918-L.jpg

I stopped down the lens and slowed down the shutter and tried to follow the skier as he skated around the corner. I sort of like the result, but it isn't at all what I had in mind. I was using my 70-200 F2.8L IS at 70mm 1/30th f18. I had the stabalizer turned off. Perhaps I should have had it enabled and set to mode 2? But I bet that isn't the whole story.
If not now, when?

Comments

• Options
    fishfish Registered Users Posts: 2,950 Major grins
    edited February 10, 2005
    rutt wrote:
    I was using my 70-200 F2.8L IS at 70mm 1/30th f18. I had the stabalizer turned off. Perhaps I should have had it enabled and set to mode 2? But I bet that isn't the hole story.

I'm not an expert, but I play one on the net. 1drink.gif

Yes, you should enable IS mode 2 and you need a much faster shutter speed than 1/30. Even if your panning speed is spot on, 1/30th is going to give you all kinds of motion blur.
    "Consulting the rules of composition before taking a photograph, is like consulting the laws of gravity before going for a walk." - Edward Weston
    "The Edge... there is no honest way to explain it because the only people who really know where it is are the ones who have gone over."-Hunter S.Thompson
  • Options
    Shay StephensShay Stephens Registered Users Posts: 3,165 Major grins
    edited February 10, 2005
    rutt wrote:

I stopped down the lens and slowed down the shutter and tried to follow the skier as he skated around the corner. I sort of like the result, but it isn't at all what I had in mind. I was using my 70-200 F2.8L IS at 70mm 1/30th f18. I had the stabalizer turned off. Perhaps I should have had it enabled and set to mode 2? But I bet that isn't the whole story.