Options

Am I a canon or nikon person?

happy-imphappy-imp Registered Users Posts: 28 Big grins
edited November 9, 2007 in Cameras
Background:
I am a newly professional photographer. I have a growing collection of canon glass and equipment. I like to shoot all sorts of things, from fast-paced sports events, events, and weddings; to portraits, artistic pieces, landscapes, and so on. I don't feel I have a 'niche' yet.

I like knowing my camera well and really geeking out on the technical stuff, but only because I can be a perfectionist. My irritation with not getting just what I want drives me to learn why, and how I CAN get it.

I have never really spent much time with a Nikon. I am willing to switch should it really be beneficial to me.

Predicament:
I know that both Nikon and Canon (and others, for that matter) make great cameras. I don't think that one sucks and the other the bomb. The sage advice seems to be "it depends on what you want, what you like, what kind of photography you do" bla bla bla.

OK, so we know that they're both good, and it depends on what you want. The question then becomes, what are each better for? What makes you a 'canon person' or a 'nikon person'? What people are better served by one vs. the other? Is it a personality thing? Is it a type of photography thing?

Also I'll add...

My current impression: