Options

Surprising Info on Lacie Monitor

Mrs FMrs F Registered Users Posts: 164 Major grins
edited November 19, 2007 in Digital Darkroom
I'm an amateur photography enthusiast and I have $1000 to spend on a new monitor and colorimeter. I've been researching monitors for months and there's a lot of conflicting information on the internet. I've also run into the problem of finding old info, where recommended models have been discontinued. I've seen brands/models that are highly recommended in one forum and trashed in the next forum. :scratch

I contacted the sales department at B&H to narrow my choices and the very nice guy there confirmed that I can't go wrong with Lacie or Eizo. When I mentioned Dell, he actually laughed and said, "no, no, no, no, no you don't want a Dell" (maybe because the problem of bate and switch panels?). The lowest price monitor that I could find in that category was the Lacie 319 or 320 with Blue eye.

I haven't bought the monitor yet because I read a review on a forum from a guy that needed nonwarranty repair on his new Lacie and he couldn't get it repaired. He said he clumsily dropped his new monitor and broke it. When he contacted Lacie, they said he could not get it repaired even if he wanted to pay for it. His new monitor had become a very expensive paper weight. I contacted Lacie sales directly and they indeed confirmed that they will not do any nonwarranty repairs on their monitors. I've also read some bad reviews about Lacie customer service.

My questions are: should this deter me from purchasing a Lacie 320 LCD with Blue Eye (I don't plan on dropping my monitor)? Has anyone out there ever needed to get a Lacie monitor repaired or dealt with their customer service? How long do LCD's usually last anyway?

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Kari
C and C always welcome.

Comments

• Options
    cmasoncmason Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
    edited October 25, 2007