Options

Nikon Body Question - D80 or D300

TexPhotogTexPhotog Registered Users Posts: 187 Major grins
edited June 29, 2008 in Cameras
Ok, so the school that I am going to (it shall remain nameless) has a digital photography kit that includes the new Canon XSi as the camera that students should use.

I've been shooting Nikon since 2005 and I am not about to switch brands just because the school’s kit uses Canon. I don't have much as far as gear, I shoot with a D50, 18-55 and 55-200 lenses and the sb600 flash. Again, not much, but it is already an investment in a particular brand, a brand that I am happy with. And, even though by today's standards my gear is really old, it does the job.

Since the school’s kit comes with the Canon XSi, I am looking for something similar in the Nikon family.

What would be YOUR recommendations…? :scratch :scratch :scratch

D80 or D300. Money is a big, huge object, but since it is for school, and eventually work, I am willing to make a sacrifice.

And yes, I will be fighting with the school about the kit and their choice of Canon. Not because I don’t like Canon, but like I stated before, I’ve already invested $$$ on Nikon.
Miguel
www.kabestudios.com
I use a little bit of everything gear wise...
Nikon/Canon/Sony/GoPro/Insta360º/Mavic 2 Pro

Comments

• Options
    MrBook2MrBook2 Registered Users Posts: 211 Major grins
    edited June 5, 2008
    I can't speak for how things will go with the school, but if you can manage it, get the D300 over the D80. I don't have one myself (I shoot a D200 at present) but I have heard great things about it. I hope to upgrade to one myself later this year.

If you are looking to have the body for the long haul, go for the D300. But you might want to talk to the school beforehand, just to be safe.

--Aaron

http://mrbook2.smugmug.com
    Nikon D200, usually with 18-200VR or 50mm f/1.8D
    Ubuntu 9.04, Bibblepro, GIMP, Argyllcms
    Blog at http://losthighlights.blogspot.com/
  • Options