Options

Rebel EX Exploring the M side of the dial

lisarhinehartlisarhinehart Registered Users Posts: 279 Major grins
edited May 29, 2009 in Technique
Hello smuggers,
I am a newbie trying to take things to the next level and venturing past that happy green square and onto the other side of the dial. Thus far the tech-y end of things has been overwhelming and frustrating, but I'm sure if I press on through this stuff, it will get better.

Today I changed from jpeg to RAW and was playing with TV and AV. The problem arose when I opened up Elements-- it doesn't recognise any of my raw files, only jpegs. I will be calling their tech support on Tuesday, but thoght I'd throw this one out in cyberspace, just incase anyone else has had this problem. I am so anxious to see what I shot today-- ugh!

AV seems very similar to a pupil and smaller numbers giving clear details throughout the entire image, like seeing every detail in a well lit room with my pupil dialated, and higher numbers blurring background like a dimily lit room when my pupil would be small and I can only see one object well and the others are blurry.

TV seems to be similar to blinking in that it will catch movement from one set point to the next and can create neat blurring effects as well. It seems to be abel to make "good light" stretch a little longer, but also can blur the subject if no tripod is used.

M seems to let me do both AV and TV-- which is way too advanced for me. P seems to do both on it's own.

I'm thinking I'll have it at P if I don't have prefrences and then switch to AV or TV depending on what I'm going for.

--Lisa
PS: You might be suprised by what I've done w/ point and shoot-- check out my site
Lisa
My Website

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,891 moderator
    edited April 19, 2009
    Lisa,