Options

Do I have a chance?

kingmamaof2kingmamaof2 Registered Users Posts: 195 Major grins
edited March 27, 2010 in Mind Your Own Business
I would love to do photography part time and eventually full time. I'm just starting out and don't have much for my portfolio. There is another local photographer that gets most of the business around here, she's good, prices are cheap-probably why she has lots of business. I am trying to charge what she charges so that I have a chance to start out. However, I can't get any calls or leads-I'm practically begging for folks to let me take their pictures and then have to give them a CD in return. My question is, do you think I have a chance to start a photography business? My site is:

www.lovieking.smugmug.com

What are the best ways to go about advertising?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    ColoradoSkierColoradoSkier Registered Users Posts: 267 Major grins
    edited March 24, 2010
    I'll let others critique your work, for I think mine needs improvement too.

But where your business is concerned, you need to figure out a few things first:

1) What is the demand in your area?
    2) Why is the established person so successful?
    3) Who do you know that you could do shoots for that would spread the word?
    4) Why should people come to you instead of the other person?