Very frustrated

racerracer Registered Users Posts: 333 Major grins
edited August 27, 2010 in Technique
I am new to dgrin, and looking for some advice
I am somewhat new to photography and started getting into wildlife photography in the spring. I think I am stuck on figuring out a few things :scratch

I am using a canon 50d, 400mm 5.6, 2x&1.4x extenders, 430ex flash with better beamer extender.

First, when I use the 400 with a 2x or 1.4x extender, it seems the only way I can get sharp focus is if I use liveview zoomed in (still hard to see with image bouncing around), even then it is iffy. Am I doing something wrong? (or maybe I just need glasses :dunno)

Another area I am having trouble, I have been taking a lot of photos of this eagle, and it seems like every time I think I got good shots, but they end up not being so good. I have yet for a perfect time to happen, were the light is great to combine with the eagle being in a perfect situation/position

Here is a example, I have been going out in the morning and it always seems to be really low contrast, at times hazy. How do you get more contrast in the photos? or is it all just photoshop skill, or coming back at a different time of day (with higher contrast?)

Here is a example,

969135339_tXVPV-M.jpg

I loaded the raw images into photoshop raw program, and VERY randomly adjusted all the sliders back and forth till I got this, still not as good as I am looking for (I guess I need to get a book on how to process raw also!)

967956818_tcCuv-L-2.jpg

Then I tried again by messing with the curve to try to get good contrast?, and added a TON of sharpening :scratch

969164453_gRw7z-X2.jpg
Todd - My Photos

Comments

• SnowgirlSnowgirl Registered Users Posts: 2,155 Major grins
    edited August 14, 2010
    Tripod? With long lenses you absolutely have to use a tripod to avoid camera shake.

RAW images never look like the finished product. No - I should re-phrase - they RARELY look like the finished product.